For The Love Of Boys

For The Love Of Boys

This is a picture of one of the boys I care for and his neighbor friends.

Seriously, boys… they make me crazy sometimes.
They argue and dissaprove of all the boundaries you set. They can be very ‘literal’ and technical especially if it’s something they feel strongly about. And if they like you, they will not tell you out right. So you gotta learn to read ‘the signs’ and in case you don’t know the signs they are usually the opposite of what you’re thinking.
Let me lay it out for you just for because.

All of the following things mean you’re okay:

– If they sit, stand or positiong themselves in anyway near your person
– If they poke, punch, kick (most of the time it doesn’t hurt), attempt to wrestle or tackle you
– If they tease or pick on you in anyway
– If they initiate conversation in general

Now there are exceptions of course but I’d say this is a standard baseline. And this mostly applies to young boys, as per my experience.

When I recognize this I can find some solace in a job that rarely offers blatant verbal appreciation. In this particular picture I am in the car at the end of a work day about to head home. Havoc and his friends occassionaly will run after my vehicle or jump on it if I’m parked and try to get in. This is most likely just fun to them but I think on a level, they think I’m alright so they initiate chase. I’m just going to recieve it and be thankful that at least they don’t hate me, because if they did, they’d not give me a second glance.

This nanny might be doing something right.

Leave a comment